IPL 2018: Virat Kohli Has Now Become The Most Expensive Player In IPL History


Royal Challengers Bangalore, on Thursday retained their captain Virat Kohli, swashbuckling hitter AB de Villiers and youngster Sarfaraz Khan for the next edition of the Indian Premier League.


The announcements were made at the IPL 2018 Player Retention event in Mumbai.

Chennai Super Kings, who are making a comeback to the IPL after a two-year suspension, retained Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Suresh Raina and Ravindra Jadeja.


There was a huge excitement among fans because this is the first after the change in retention rules that franchises were put in a difficult spot to retain just 3 players.

Former Indian captain MS Dhoni was retained for a sum of 15 crores, Suresh Raina was retained for 11 crores and Ravindra Jadeja will be paid 7 crores.

Sunrisers Hyderabad have retained their captain and Australian batsman David Warner (12 crores) and India pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar (8.5 crores).

Delhi Daredevils also announced their players and they have retained young wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant (8 crores), South African all-rounder Chris Morris (7.1 crores) and India’s young talented batsman Shreyas Iyer (7 crores).

Two-time IPL champions Kolkata Knight Riders let their captain Gautam Gambhir go and have retained West Indians Sunil Narine (8.5 crores) and Andre Russell (7 crores).

Defending champions and the most successful franchise in IPL history, Mumbai Indians have retained Rohit Sharma (15 crores), Hardik Pandya (11 crores) and Jasprit Bumrah (7 crores).

Rajasthan Royals, who are also making a comeback to the league with CSK after serving their suspension, have retained Australia’s Steve Smith for a sum of 12 crores.

Coming back to Royal Challengers Bangalore, the Bangalore franchise have retained Virat Kohli for a whopping sum of INR 17 crore, making him the most expensive player in the history of the Indian Premier League.

De Villiers was retained at a fee of 11 crores while RCB paid 1.75 crores for Sarfaraz.

So, Virat Kohli is now the most expensive player in the history of the Indian Premier League.