Almost every cricket fan is aware that there is never a dull moment when R Ashwin is there on the field or off-field. The flabbergasting cricketer stays in limelight every other day either because of his astonishing balling skills or because of his fitting replies. However, he isn’t the type of person who makes miscalculations with the rules.
As we all know, he is playing in the ongoing 1st test match against New Zealand in Kanpur and once again managed to grab all the attention as he was seen indulging in an argument with on-field umpire Nitin Menon.
The viral incident took place after Ashwin adopted a new bowling run-up. Ashwin opted to bowl with a diagonal run-up in the over.
Umpire Nitin Menon, who frequently struggles to get the LBW and caught-behind decisions right in Kanpur, was not happy with his bowling action against Ashwin.
The off-spinner was finishing his bowling action, in the 73rd over, and was somewhat in front of the umpire. Ashwin’s bowling action not just made it difficult for the umpire to witness the game but also disturbed the non-striker, Tom Latham.
Then the umpire was seen having a word with Ashwin regarding the bowling action and the conversation between the two was caught on the stump mic, which is now going viral on the internet, and it is hilarious.
The heated argument between Ashwin and Nitin Menon was heard by numerous fans and experts on social media, who uploaded it on Twitter.
Umpire: "You are obstructing my vision"
Rahane: "He's not running on to the danger area."
Umpire: "I can't make the LBW calls."
Ashwin: "You are anyways not making any" 😋😂
👉 https://t.co/XAI4PjXuF0 👈 #INDvNZ | #NZvIND pic.twitter.com/rppDtulaRm
— 🏏Flashscore Cricket Commentators (@FlashCric) November 27, 2021
Nitin Menon was heard saying: “You are obstructing my vision.”
Rahane replied: “He’s not running onto the danger area (of the pitch).”
The umpire then said: “I can’t make the lbw calls.”
To this Ashwin gave a cheeky reply: “You are anyway not making any.”
He added: “It is fine if you aren’t able to give a verdict, I will use DRS because this angle is helping me bowl better. It’s your problem, and not my problem.”
Ashwin plays with opponents and match officials at the same time.
— Silly Point (@FarziCricketer) November 27, 2021
The on-air commentators also reported that the Indian head coach Rahul Dravid had met the match referee about the same issue. Later, R Ashwin eventually dropped his diagonal run-up in the next over.
Leave a Reply